PROPOSED Minutes of Open Session Legislative Council Meeting

Wednesday, December 18, 2024 • 9:00 a.m. Committee Room 403 • State Capitol Building 100 S. Capitol Avenue • Lansing, Michigan

ATTENDANCE

Present:

Speaker of the House Joe Tate, Chair Senate Majority Leader Winnie Brinks, Alternate Chair Representative Abraham Aiyash Senator Edward McBroom Senator Sean McCann Senator Jeremy Moss Representative Laurie Pohutsky Representative Bryan Posthumus Senator Sam Singh Absent/Excused:

Republican Leader Matt Hall

ITEMS I and II. Call to Order and Roll Call

Pursuant to Legislative Council Rule Chapter 1, Rule 2, Speaker Tate called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m. and asked the clerk to call the roll. A quorum was present. **Speaker Tate moved to excuse absent members. There was no objection. The motion prevailed by unanimous consent.**

ITEM III. Election of Officers

Representative Angela Witwer

Senator Roger Victory

Chair

Senate Majority Leader Brinks nominated Speaker Tate to be Chair of the Legislative Council for 2024. Speaker Tate asked if there were any other nominations. There were no other nominations. Speaker Tate declared that, pursuant to Legislative Council Rule, Chapter 1, Rule 4, he will be Chair of the Legislative Council for 2024.

Alternate Chair

Chair Tate nominated Senate Majority Leader Brinks to be Alternate Chair of the Legislative Council for 2024. The Chair asked if there were any other nominations. There were no other nominations. Chair Tate declared that, pursuant to Legislative Council Rule, Chapter 1, Rule 4, Senate Majority Leader Brinks will be Alternate Chair of the Legislative Council for 2024.

ITEM IV. Approval of the Proposed Minutes of the October 4, 2023, Legislative Council Meeting
The Chair directed the members' attention to the proposed minutes of the October 4, 2023, Legislative Council
meeting included in members' meeting packet. Senator McBroom moved to adopt the minutes of the October 4,
2023, Legislative Council meeting as proposed. There was no further discussion. The motion prevailed by
unanimous consent.

ITEM V. Approval of Appointment to Michigan Law Revision Commission – Peter Ruddell

The Chair reported that Mr. Peter Ruddell has expressed an interest in continuing to serve on the Commission as Chair. The Chair noted that Mr. Ruddell's background information is in members' meeting packet. Representative Pohutsky moved to re-appoint Peter Ruddell as Chair to the Michigan Law Revision Commission for a 4-year term ending on December 18, 2028. There was no further discussion. The motion prevailed by an affirmative vote of a majority of the members appointed to and serving on the Council, voting as follows:

Yeas—11 Senate Majority Leader Brinks
Senator Edward McBroom
Senator Sean McCann
Senator Jeremy Moss

Senator Sam Singh Senator Roger Victory

Nays-0

Speaker Tate
Representative Abraham Aiyash
Representative Laurie Pohutsky
Representative Bryan Posthumus
Representative Angela Witwer

Approval of Appointment to Michigan Law Revision Commission - Elizabeth Skaggs

The Chair reported that Ms. Elizabeth Skaggs has expressed an interest in serving on the Commission. The Chair noted that Ms. Skaggs's background information is in members' meeting packet. Senate Majority Leader Brinks moved to appoint Elizabeth Skaggs to the Michigan Law Revision Commission for a 4-year term ending on

Proposed December 18, 2024 Legislative Council Meeting Minutes Page 2

December 18, 2028. There was no further discussion. The motion prevailed by an affirmative vote of a majority of the members appointed to and serving on the Council, voting as follows:

Yeas—11 Senate Majority Leader Brinks

Senator Edward McBroom Senator Sean McCann Senator Jeremy Moss Senator Sam Singh Senator Roger Victory Representative Abraham Aiyash Representative Laurie Pohutsky Representative Bryan Posthumus

Speaker Tate

Representative Angela Witwer

Nays—0

ITEM VI. Selection of a Legislative Representative on the Michigan State Council for Interstate Juvenile Supervision – Senator Jeff Irwin

The Chair reported the selection of Senator Jeff Irwin for re-appointment to serve as the legislative representative on the Michigan State Council for Interstate Juvenile Supervision for a 4-year term ending on December 18, 2028. Senator Moss moved that Senator Jeff Irwin be re-appointed to serve as the legislative representative on the Michigan State Council for Interstate Juvenile Supervision for a 4-year term ending on December 18, 2028. There was no further discussion. The motion prevailed by an affirmative vote of a majority of the members appointed to and serving on the Council, voting as follows:

Yeas—11 Senate Majority Leader Brinks

Senator Edward McBroom Senator Sean McCann Senator Jeremy Moss Senator Sam Singh Senator Roger Victory Speaker Tate
Representative Abraham Aiyash
Representative Laurie Pohutsky
Representative Bryan Posthumus
Representative Angela Witwer

Nays—0

ITEM VII. Selection of a Legislative Representative on the Michigan State Council for Interstate Adult Offender Supervision – Representative Amos O'Neal

The Chair reported the selection of Representative Amos for re-appointment as the legislative representative on the Michigan State Council for Interstate Adult Offender Supervision for a 4-year term ending on December 18, 2028. Representative Aiyash moved that Representative Amos O'Neal be re-appointed to serve as the legislative representative on the Michigan State Council for Interstate Adult Offender Supervision for a 4-year term ending on December 18, 2028. There was no further discussion. The motion prevailed by an affirmative vote of a majority of the members appointed to and serving on the Council, voting as follows:

Yeas—11 Senate Majority Leader Brinks

Senator Edward McBroom Senator Sean McCann Senator Jeremy Moss Senator Sam Singh Senator Roger Victory Speaker Tate Representative Abraham Aiyash Representative Laurie Pohutsky Representative Bryan Posthumus

Representative Angela Witwer

Nays-0

ITEM VIII. Public Participation

The Chair asked for public participation. There was none.

ITEM IX. Adjournment

The Council having no further business, the Chair asked for a motion to adjourn. Senator McBroom moved to adjourn the meeting. Without objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent. The meeting was adjourned at 9:08 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jennifer Dettloff, Secretary